top of page

Ms. Rug Artist

My latest thing to make me happy is I have started a "creating project." I heard somewhere (I think a LDS General Conference talk--not sure which one) that

we all have an innate desire to create something worthwhile.

To satisfy my inner desire, I am making a rug.

That is right. A rug.

Yes it sounds stupid. So anyway.

It isn't a big rug. It will go in my front entryway where I currently don't have a rug because I am too cheap to spend the money on the ones that I like (which all happen to be super expensive).

And guess what it is made out of? My old clothes. I have a ton of clothes that I never wear, so I decided they are no longer going to waste. I am recycling! I picked out all my clothes that I rarely wear and couldn't sell (which was waaaay too many), and then sorted them by color. I had enough to make a black/white/gray themed rug.

I got the instructions on this blog that an amazing human being put up.

http://www.abeautifulmess.com/2014/04/make-your-own-woven-rag-rug.html

This is her rug. Mine is actually pretty different because she used old sheets, but whatever. I love mine! And I'm not even finished yet. I can post it when I'm done.

Only problem--it takes tons of time. Luckily my deadline is a couple of weeks away because that's when my inlaws come to visit. (No they don't judge me, fortunately, but I still like to have things look good for them.)

But yes. It is making me happy. I like making pretty stuff. This rug makes me feel like an artist :)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page